Posted in Uncategorized

Making time to write

Image   I know much has been written about making time to write. As a fairly new writer, and yes after writing for eleven years, I’m still new to the game, I understand how hard it is to find time, but like all careers, hobbies, or businesses you only get out what you put in. The harder you work at something the better you can become.

When I first started writing I was very new to all aspects from the skill of writing to the world of publishing. Leaving school at sixteen with no basics understanding of English grammar other than there’s a capital letter at the beginning of a sentence and full stop at the end and my spelling was awful. I knew I had a lot to learn if I was going to get one thing published before I hit 50 years old. 

After making up my mind about my challenge at the age of 39, I gave myself ten years, and started by buying every book I could on ‘how to’ and started reading.  250 books later on everything from understanding English grammar to ‘How to write a novel, I know I’m not expert, but the one thing I have learnt is that no amount of daydream will make my dream come true. It’s all about making time to sit and write.

I know I’m lucky that my husband has given me the chance to have the time to write full-time, after I took redundancy from my job, but still I have to run a house, do the washing, ironing and cook his meal. I also chose to grown my own veggies too.

Aah-ah, you may say but I have to work full-time, and yes, I do understand that, because I’ve been there and got the t-shirt too.

It all about making time, I wrote in my tea and lunch breaks. I got up an hour earlier and wrote in the evenings too and made sure I found time at weekends. I found the my need to write grow stronger and until people understood how much it meant to me. After years of people laughing behind my back about the silly pipedream of mine, there are those who have had a smile wiped off their faces. Though I have yet to have a novel published, I am much closer to have that dream fulfilled than I was eleven years ago.

The key is hard work. To just keep going and believing you can do it.    

Author:

I've been busy learning the skills to become a writer over the last 10 years by writing short stories. After winning two short stories competition, I hope to find a publisher for my novels.

Leave a Reply

