Posted in Competition results, First Steps

Who are you… Tortoise or Hare?

Trotise or HareOkay . . . so  I don’t know whether I’m happy or relieved that I didn’t making it into the next round of the Richard & Judy’s search for a bestseller. I’m not sure I would’ve coped with all the pressure that sort of win would have brought just yet.  Overnight stardom then nothing, might not have been a good thing anyway.

Tortoise or Hare, which are you?

With my writing I’m quite happy being the Tortoise taking my time moving outside of my comfort zone. I want to allow my growing confidence to take me where I need to go at my own pace.

The thing is, what’s happened to the Richard and Judy’s first novel competition winner in 2006? Did she write another book. Did the novel become a best seller? I did read it, though I don’t remember the name of the author or the book title. Or, is it like the X factor, just because you win it doesn’t mean everyone who voted for you will buy the end result and put you on the best seller’s list.

Oh well, I still have some more competition entries out there. Positive think 🙂

Paula R C

P.S just found out that the author was Christine Aziz and the book was The Olive Readers.

Author:

I've been busy learning the skills to become a writer over the last 10 years by writing short stories. After winning two short stories competition, I hope to find a publisher for my novels.

6 thoughts on “Who are you… Tortoise or Hare?

    1. No, this was a Search for a new writer competition, Flighty. The Island by Victoria Hislop was on the Reader Group programme, when they chose books for their summer reads.

      1. I had a feeling that it wasn’t! I see that you’ve since found what it was. I’ve read very few of the Richard and Judy book choices.
        And I’ve always much more of a tortoise than a hare! xx

      2. I always feel more comfortable taking my time getting to know fully what I’m doing rather than charging about making mistakes and having to start again. Christine Aziz doesn’t seem to have done much since winning the competition.

  1. I’m definitely a tortoise and not a hare and happy to be so. As for that competition, I seem to recall that none of the short-listed authors ended up with glittering writing careers. As they say, one swallow does not make a summer and one competition win alone does not launch a sustained career. Top writers usually have to win more than one. Without the years of hard work, the learning and the gaining of experience, it’s not surprising few of us ever achieve it. Even if we were ever lucky enough to win a major competition.

    1. Thank you for dropping by, Sally. At the end of the day, hard work shine through there is no quick route to the best seller’s list. I believe it’s all down the readers anyway.

Leave a Reply

