Artist Albrecht Durer
Artist Albrecht Durer

Yesterday, the words came painful slow. I’m back working on my novel after a busy time writing for competitions. I hoping to catch up with myself as I wanted to get my new novel finished this year.

Well, at least the first draft done.

Today, I’ve been working on the chapter I wrote yesterday. When I went to bed last night, I felt I’d wasted a day. Reading it through before packing in for the day it felt as though I’d written a lot of rubbish.

I’m working on five chapters. It would’ve be six, but I’ve decided to drop the prologue after going to the Essex Book Festival Writers’ day. I asked an agent there what she thought of them. She said, if it is relevant to the book then ‘yes’ keep them in, if not, lose them.  I felt mine was important, but I decided to drop it out of any submissions I send in. Once I get someone interested in my novel I shall then show it them and they will be able to tell me whether to put in or not.

This morning after feeling down that I couldn’t find the words to bring the writing alive, my character has revealed more of himself to me.

Google Men's hairstyle
Google Men’s hairstyles

Don’t you just love it when you can physically reach out and touch your characters. Though having said that he isn’t the sort of guy you would want to meet.

He has a darker side best kept in the pages of a book. Oh yes, he’s charming, sweet and little on the shy side. Tall, lean and sexy with thick black hair, (you would want to run your fingers through if you are a woman reading this)

He’s crossed between these two guys…. Albrecth Durer : (Artist selfie top left) And (Thanks to ‘Google’ for men hairstyles, bottom right) male model, I can  give you a taste of  my James’ looks.

Wow, the likeness is amazing.  It’s a shame he lives in my head…. Err, maybe it’s best he does live there. Unless, some nice film company loves my book enough to make it into a movie. (Daydreaming break;-)

Better get back to him, just in case he goes off the boil.  🙂

Have a great day. Paula R C.

One thought on “Words and Pictures of your Characters

Leave a Reply

