Posted in Uncategorized

Whitby Goth Festival

Whitby Goth Festival
Whitby Goth Festival

Twice a year, my husband and I dress up and join the fun of mixing with others who enjoy expressing their other selves too.

Now maybe true Goths may find that a couple of Fifty years olds have no rights to call themselves ‘Goths’ but then who are they to take the name ‘Goths‘ either as it came from two race of peoples living in Scandinavia. The East Germanic people, two of whose branches, the Visigoths and the Ostrogoths, played an important role in the fall of the Roman Empire and the emergence of Medieval Europe.

It is interesting to see how the name of Goth & Gothic has changed over the years. Like all languages, we have to remember it is a living thing and it changes and grows as we do too.

The Whitby Goth Festival will be celebrating its twenty birthday this year and the big celebration will be in October at the Halloween event. My husband and I are planning our next outfits for then already.

This posting is short today, as I’m busy working on my novel. I will be of course putting together a slideshow of all the amazing outfits we saw at the festival, but for now I’m just showing you what my husband and I were wearing.

Best wishes,

Paula R C

Author:

I've been busy learning the skills to become a writer over the last 10 years by writing short stories. After winning two short stories competition, I hope to find a publisher for my novels.

5 thoughts on “Whitby Goth Festival

  1. Why Paula

    Why shouldn’t you enjoy your Gothic dressing up…its fun and you and Russell do it ever so well…love to see you all dressed in your Goth attire, your a vision and Russell.
    Younger people seem to think they’ve invented everything, including sex…
    Just go for it, have a great time.
    Best wishes Connie…
    Ciao X

Leave a Reply

