Posted in Everyday Life

Taking a different view on life around us.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERAThis morning my dear friend Ana and I went for a walk. Normally we meet up at 7.00 but this morning there was a break in the rain  so we decided to meet at 6.30 instead, and get a walk in before it started again.

Taking the path to the wood, we watched young rabbits enjoying the grass near the horses’ field.

The sky was so dramatic that I had to take quite a few pictures because it looked so stunning. It made me want to reach for my artist’s brush and throw paint on a canvas.

The path to the woods cutting across the corn field, here we have a wonderful view across to Rivenhall Place once  home to the Western Family.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

It is said that the great artist Hogarth frequently stayed there to paint the portraits of the family. In 1692 the London merchant, Thomas Western bought Rivenhall Place from the Wisemans. The woods once belonged to the Knight Templars who lived a Cressing Temple, not far from the village where I live. GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

The whole area where we walk is covered in interesting history, though nothing much can be seen above ground.  As we made our way through the woods the morning sun broke through and the temperature began to rise.  Ana had wished earlier in the walk that it would, so got her wish as more insects started to take to the air.

Ana has become a brilliant photographer since she bought a camera. It all really started when I kept stopping to take pictures when we first started to walk together over 15 years ago. Then we use to only walk on a Sunday morning as we both worked full-time.  She use to try not to get annoyed with me when I took too long taking one photo. ‘I can’t see what is so interesting enough to want to photograph?’ she was forever saying.

So I would show her through the eye piece on my camera, so she could understand what had caught my attention.

After a while she said, I’m going to buy a camera. To start with she would use her phone, then she bought a small snappy one, now she has a more powerful one and I have to wait for her. 🙂

Our walks have become far more interesting as we see more of the world around us.  Ana uploads her pictures on her Facebook page and share our walks with her family and friends around the world.

Take a camera and go for a walk around where you live and you will be surprise by what you will find. It will open you eyes to a different view of the world in which you live.

Ana and I often find people who we once worked with asking us where we took the photographs as they don’t believe it’s local to us.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERAOn our way back home, we watched as House Martins flew in and out of a hole in the top of a barn.  Now we know for sure that summer is finally here.

So now that my bread is in the oven baking, and I’ve up-dated my blog I better get back to my writing.

Have a great day, and I shall be back again soon.

Paula R C

 

 

 

 

 

Author:

I've been busy learning the skills to become a writer over the last 10 years by writing short stories. After winning two short stories competition, I hope to find a publisher for my novels.

4 thoughts on “Taking a different view on life around us.

  1. A most enjoyable post. I like that time of day. Lucky you seeing rabbits and house martins. I hope that the writing has been going well. xx

  2. It’s lovely that you have been walking together for so long and that you introduced Ana to photography. I enjoyed reading, thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

