Posted in Books, Everyday Life, Writing

It’s a little puzzling, but who am I

Muntjac taken this morning by P R C

When does a scribbler become a writer, or a storyteller an author?

Or even when does a child become an adult?  When do others stop seeing us as children we once were and start seeing us as grown up individuals

As a mother with a young son, I decided once he reached the age of eighteen I could no longer see him as a child even though there were times I wanted the child back so I could send him to his room when he was being a pain. Though this  wouldn’t have been much of a punishment to him as he had his computer, TV and games there. 🙂

We all change, growing from children into adults. When we work we earn money and while earning this money we give ourselves the right to use a title that comes from line of work we do.

A doctor, shop assistant, teacher, policeperson, soldier, sailor etc.
But what if you are creative. If you don’t see yourself by the title your work gives you, but by who you are as an individual.

I’ve always been creative. As a child I would sit and draw for hours. By the time I reached eleven years old I had discovered a library across the road from where we lived and would spend all Saturday in a world of books.

I loved art, fashion, history, poetry, and nature. As a child, my grandmother give me an old box camera and I grew to love photography.

These are the things I identify myself with. I could in fact call myself an artist, designer, historian, poet or naturalist.

Come follow me painted by Paula R C 1987
Come follow me painted by Paula R C 1987

I could be one of many things.

I’m a wife, mother, sister, daughter, aunt, friend. These are titles other put on me, but they’re not how I see myself.

Is it important to know who you are for yourself? Or be given a title by others?

To my son, I will always be his mother. This is important for us both, his birth meant it’s a role that will never be broken. A wife is something different. Being a sister like a mother or daughter is unbreakable too, though to some and myself it isn’t without its problems.

Anyway, the main reason for this posting is to play around with the thought of what gives a scribbler the right to use the title ‘Writer’.

I am a writer. I write almost every day in some form or other. When I’m not writing, I’m thinking about it. It has become my trade. At the moment, I don’t earn enough to pay tax unlike my paid job I was doing three years ago. I worked for twenty-two years of my life  in electronic, building a large range of PCB’s.  So if you can only use the title paying jobs give you then because I don’t earn enough from my writing to pay taxes, does this mean I’m not a writer?

To me, I became an artist, when I sold my first painting years ago. Unfortunately, I couldn’t make a living at it as I had a house, car and child-minder to pay for by myself.

I became a published writer when I had my first non-fiction article published and was sent a cheque. Soon I hope to become an author when my first novel is published.

For now, I’m still a creator. I create from my own imagination whether that is fingertips to keyboard, pencil to sketchpad, needle to cotton, or eye to camera.

I am an individual.

Welcome to my world.

Paula R C.

Author:

I've been busy learning the skills to become a writer over the last 10 years by writing short stories. After winning two short stories competition, I hope to find a publisher for my novels.

One thought on “It’s a little puzzling, but who am I

Leave a Reply

