Posted in Uncategorized

Blog Hopping… Hmm,

Debz Hobbs-Wyatt best selling book
Debz Hobbs-Wyatt best selling book

I’m new to all of this, Blog Hopping so please bear with me. A few weeks ago, Conrad Brand, fellow writer and publisher, asked me to take part in a blog hop.  I met Conrad after he had invited me to submit a wild life story to the Springbok Publication’s first anthology ‘Plight of the Rhino’

My good friend Debz Hobbs-Wyatt  and author of ‘While No one was Watching’ sent me a list of questions to answer.

And here are my answers.

1) What are you working on?

Well, Debz I’m working on changing my winning short story into a bestselling novel. Hmmm, well, we can all live in hope, but seriously, that’s my plan for this year. I’m always telling myself, if others can do it then why not me. You have to be strong and keep on believing you can.  And you know what that’s like, Debz, after all, not long ago, you had the same dream and yours came true.

My novel unlike the short story is told from the artist’s point of view.  He isn’t someone you would like to meet, I assure you.  If you would like to read the short story, follow the link to ‘Roofscapes’

2) How does your work differ from others of its genre?

I suppose I see my work as a crossover between Stephen King and Sophie Hannah, a kind of Psychological horror.  I want to get deep within the character’s mind and find out what makes them tick. I see myself writing about normal people’s darker side. We all have a dark side, but most of us keep them under control.

I know it’s hard to come up with something totally original and if you do it maybe too off the wall for agents and publishers, but one can only live in hope that you can write what you enjoy writing and that others will want to read it.

3) Why do you write what you write?

Why do I write what I write? Hmm, that’s quite simple, Debz. I write the stuff I love reading. My dear friend and mentor Ivy Lord (Maggie Ford) who runs a small writing group I go to, likens my work to Stephen King’s, which is marvellous, though I don’t know whether the Master of Horror would say the same, if he read my work.  I enjoy taking the everyday and adding my twist, which I think we all do. No two minds are alike so we can all tell a very different tale even if we have the same sort of ideas when we start writing.  I’m enjoying finding out where my writing journey is going to take me, I know what I would like, but I’m interested in finding out what’s unknown to me.  Very exciting, don’t you think, Debz?

4) How does your writing process work?

I’ve been on a huge learning curve over the last twelve years, from learning how to write to actually getting short stories published. In that time I have found out what works for me and what doesn’t. Now I’ve learnt the basic rules, and found my own voice I’m just enjoying my new found freedom to write in my own style.

I like to write in the early morning. When I worked full-time i.e. when out to work. I would get up at four o’clock to write before going to work. Now I wait until after my husband has gone to work. In the winter, I get more writing done, as I haven’t got the garden to worry about. I’m afraid when I need to clear my head or think something through I wander around the garden and before I know where I am, I’m pulling weeds or cutting the lawn. 🙂

When I start writing a project I sit with a blank sheet of paper and write a few words i.e. betrayal, jealous etc. whatever I think the story will be about. After deciding whether it’s going to be a man or woman’s point of view, I try to hear a voice.

The first sentence that comes to mind will give me the voice, but also which sex is going to speak.  I may want my main character to be male, but if the sentence is more female then that’s who the character will become.

My joy is writing in the first person and getting into my character’s head so that I can behave how I wouldn’t in real life. When I had a full-time job and wrote in the early mornings, evenings, weekends and holiday, I used to take my early work in for my work-friends to read. They were shocked to find I had such a dark mind. My husband is always being asked how he sleeps at night. 🙂

As I write I rework paragraph by paragraph as I go adding new ideas as they come to me. I follow where my main character leads me, but I do try to keep him on track and to the main plot. The first two novels I wrote had too much going on, too many sub plots and characters, which is why I write in the first person now. Limiting my field of vision, I hope will make me a much clearer writer.

My dream is to become a great writer rather than a prolific writer.

I hope that has been of interest to you all.

Best wishes,

Paula R C.

PS. please check out Debz’s book and Conrad’s blog too.

 

 

Author:

I've been busy learning the skills to become a writer over the last 10 years by writing short stories. After winning two short stories competition, I hope to find a publisher for my novels.

3 thoughts on “Blog Hopping… Hmm,

Leave a Reply

