Posted in Uncategorized

It just keeps getting better.

A photograph of me taken by my friend Ana
A photograph of me taken by my friend Ana

Small Steps. It’s all about small steps. As the saying tells us, we have to learn to walk before we can run.

Years ago, when I was young I wanted to be an artist. At sixteen, I tried to get into my local college to study art and failed the entry exam because I couldn’t do the maths or English.

Today, years later I received an email to tell me another one of my short stories has been accepted for publication. This is the third in less than three weeks. It’s unbelievable.

What brought joy to my heart is when I read, ‘We so loved it – it reminded us of ‘The Behaviour of Moths’.

Gosh, and to think if someone had told me even fifteen years that I would be getting work published I would have laughed in their face and called them crazy.

I know I must have more faith in myself, and I’m lucky to have a husband who believes in me even when I lose faith in myself.  These last few weeks have helped me in a few dark days not because of my writing but because of some family issues.

Life can’t always be rosy, but still I have always used my art as my escapism. At least with short stories you can always write your own endings.

Have a great weekend,

Paula R C

Author:

I've been busy learning the skills to become a writer over the last 10 years by writing short stories. After winning two short stories competition, I hope to find a publisher for my novels.

2 thoughts on “It just keeps getting better.

Leave a Reply

