Posted in Everyday Life, publishing, Short Stories, Writing

Bird’s Eye View On Life

Paper Mill Lock GatesNow winter is fast approaching but I need to stay focused on one thing. After spending most of this year working hard on entering competitions I want to spend the next few months working on my novel.

Yesterday, I did a long walk with my friend Dot along a towpath between two lock gates. The morning started off misty but soon warmed up as the sun broken through the low clouds.

As we followed the path we could hear the calls of a bird of prey. The low, haunting mews carried across the open landscape making us stop to scan the edge of a wood in the far distance. Though we couldn’t see it, it had us hooked as we try to locate where it was calling from. Like a child alone, it was a sad, melancholy cry.

Buzzards have become a very common sight across my part of England, but I still get very excited at the sight of one. At one time, I only saw them when I travelled to places like Wales or the far north of England and into Scotland.

One day while out walking, I got chatting to a local farmer about my excitement on seeing Kites which my friend Ana and I saw quite often circling and playing on the air currents overhead as we followed our local footpaths on a hot summers day.  I was shocked when he told me he hated seeing them, worried that they would take his game birds which he breed for hunts across his land.

As Dot and I made our way back to my car, we saw seven buzzards soaring high above us, riding on the thermals. Seeing such freedom lightens my heart as I watched them in awe.    One can only imagine their view of our shared landscape. We probably seem like nothing more than ants to them from way up there.

My only disappointment yesterday was not be able to photograph them to show you.

Bumble bee on White Nettle
Bumble bee on White Nettle

I found much more to photograph among the nettles and grasses as we walked on.  Dark bush crickets, spiders and bees though dragonflies were in large numbers but far to quick for me this time. The warmth and the shortening days making them far to busy in their short lives to want to settle, even for a moment, as they hunted for a mate to breed with before the day was finished.

With another year drawing slowly to a close we are aware of our own lives passing too which is why I must try hard to remain focused on my book. Though after chatting to the publisher and agent Robin Jones last Tuesday he said it was a good thing to get as many credits to your name i.e. writing awards and published work as you can, even being short-listed for something can help too.

Hope you have a great week and I shall catch up with you again soon.

Paula R. C.

Author:

I've been busy learning the skills to become a writer over the last 10 years by writing short stories. After winning two short stories competition, I hope to find a publisher for my novels.

2 thoughts on “Bird’s Eye View On Life

  1. Sounds like a stunning walk, a very inspiring one too! Good luck with your project over the next few months, winter is sometimes the best time for knuckling down and getting tons of writing done 😀

Leave a Reply

