A Flock of Shadows Anthology
A Flock of Shadows Anthology

Wow, it is easier said than done. I’ve always wanted to be someone who can just stand up and talk aloud to an audience, or take to the stage as people do for X factor, whether they can sing or not.

Believing in one’s ability is an amazing thing. I enjoy my craft because I can do it in my own time, in my own room and send it off for others to read without meeting them face to face.

If they reject the piece then they aren’t rejecting me the person.

Anyone who steps onto a stage, whether a comedian,  politician, actor or just a speaker, to me is a braver person in my eyes whether the audience enjoys what they say or not.

Next week I shall be traveling to Swansea to do a reading. For the last two weeks I have been reading my story aloud to my cat, husband and friends ready to stand up and reading it  aloud at the book’s launch. This morning I found on the Parthian’s forthcoming books web page a list of the other authors name, whose stories will be in the ‘A Flock of Shadows’ anthology with mine.

After I checked out who they were and what work they’ve had published previously, my nerves have left finally me. Most of the other authors have a major body of work behind them which makes me feel like a fish out of water.

I knew when I started out on this career I would have to face up to my greatest fears which is my lack of confidence and shyness. Knowing that publishers want you to go out and sell your work whenever you can, wasn’t going to be easy for me, but I wanted to do it.

Next Thursday will be my first big hurdle after getting my work published, of course. 🙂 Facing your fears

Now I have to face my fear and face an audience for the first time. I shall, of course, let you know how I get on. I just don’t want to take the easy route out and not do it.

 

Have a great week,

Paula R C.

 

3 thoughts on “Keep Calm and Carry on . . . I wish!

  1. It’s brilliant that you’re in the anthology.
    I too have always wished I had the courage to stand up and speak in front of people and I have the greatest admiration for those who do. I will be thinking of you next Thursday. I am sure you will be fine – and remember you are as good as anyone else so jump back in the water and enjoy yourself 🙂 x

    1. Thank you, Teresa. I know I have to do it if I’m going to become a bestseller. There might be times in the future when I’ll need to do it for a bigger audience, so if I can overcome my fear now it will be a great help.

Leave a Reply

