Posted in Competition results, Everyday Life, Short Stories, Writing

A week of downs and ups

Chill start to the day.
Chill start to the day.

My week started on Sunday after news from my sister that the nursing home where our mum was being cared for had called to say Mum was on her way to hospital after she’d fallen out of bed.

We arrived to find Mum very confused with a cut to her head and a broken nose. In the fall, Mum was unable to save herself as she has no movement in her arms and legs.

It was a long night for my sister and I.

At three in the morning, we headed home, leaving Mum at the hospital as she waited for an ambulance to take her back  to the home later in the day.  By the time, I got home I managed to get a couple of hours sleep and was wide awake  waiting on a call from my sister when she had hear from the home to tell us mum was back with them.  We arrived at the home later in the day to found out all we needed to know about what had happened to Mum.  The accident wasn’t anyone’s fault, and now things are in place to make sure it never happens again.

My husband and I regularly visit mum taking her two brothers to see her so we know that mum is in good care. The team of carers at the home were as shocked as we were that it had happened. With all the bad news around about care homes, we know how lucky we are that Mum is in one of the many good, caring homes no one hears about.

My other bad news … of less importance than my mum’s accident, was I didn’t get a placing in the Historic House Short Story Competition. Still as they say, you can’t win them all. And there’s plenty of other competitions to enter next year.

Light in the darkGood News:

Another one of my stories was published this week.  Bridge House Publishing published their anthology ‘Light in the Dark’. My short story ‘The Kite’ was accepted and is published in the book.

I love the cover.

So if you are looking for something to read during the long, cold winter nights while curled up in front of the fire with a hot chocolate in hand then click on the link here.

On Wednesday, I went to the RNA Winter Party in London with my dear friend, Ivy (Maggie Ford) Lord. We had a great time chatting with writing friends and publishers.  I also got to meet Maggie Swinburne from ‘My Weekly’ who is on the look out for Pocket Novel writers. If you would like to know more about writing ‘Pocket Novels’ then here is a Link

 

Have a great weekend,

Paula R C.

 

Author:

I've been busy learning the skills to become a writer over the last 10 years by writing short stories. After winning two short stories competition, I hope to find a publisher for my novels.

2 thoughts on “A week of downs and ups

  1. I’m sorry to read about your mum, and hope that she recovers soon. That’s a shame you not getting placed in one competition, but well done on the other one.
    Good to see that you enjoyed yourself on Wednesday. Thanks, you too. xx

Leave a Reply

