The unexpected on a cold chilly morning
The unexpected on a cold chilly morning

I’ve never been someone who counts down the days towards Christmas or any other big event in one’s life. I never liked the thought of wishing my life away. Every day once lived is gone forever, but I’ve always believed in making plans though.

Life is very much about living each day, getting things done and moving on. Structure in life, like in books is important, you need to know where you are going, or at least heading.

Life like in writing, is about taking yourself on a journey of discovery. Hunting out interesting and new things and people who can open our minds and eyes to a bright and happy world around us. We all know how easily one can lose sight of what is important in life, if it becomes stale and uninteresting.

I’m not talking about spending money or a taking an expensive holiday, just looking at the world from a different point of view.  Even a simple thing like taking a different route home from work may lead to discovering a new place or person. The knock on effect can open a whole new world to you.

It’s the small things that makes the difference to our lives.

As the count down to the new year begins, so I’m already making plans to where I would like to be this time next year.  At the beginning of this year, my plan was to enter as many writing competitions as I could. Well, at least one a month.

I’m pleased with the results I’ve had.  Yes, I would’ve loved to had more than three out of twelve, but I might have had nothing published this year. As I see it, it is better to take small steps and keep moving forwards than to run and fall flat on your face.

Light in the darkOn Saturday, I went to the book launch of Light in the Dark, with my husband and two very good friends. We had a great time and met some wonderful and interesting people.   Though, I did stand up and read some of the opening to my story, ‘The Kite’ I didn’t read as well as I hoped, and cut it short as I loss my nerve.

Part of me sees it as a failure, but part of me sees it as another step in the right direction. As long as I keep moving towards my final goal, it is all good.

Next year is just around the corner full of the unexpected and excitement. I’m sure it’s bound to bring something good and interesting in its wake.

Paula R C

4 thoughts on “Counting down the days

  1. From one who has been there, I know how hard it is to stand up and read your work. It’s a huge achievement just to get up there and open your mouth. I read something amiss at my last public reading and then got an fit of the giggles, all nicely recorded on camera for posterity! You’ve done great this year.

    I often find that I get inspiration wandering about on foot, wondering what’s going on behind closed doors. I must look quite away with the pixies when out in public on my own, but I’m used to the funny looks!

Leave a Reply

