Willow
Willow

Plotline.  That’s the thing that kept me awake at three this morning.

Yep, I know, it’s a crazy time to be thinking about plotting, but when you’ve been woken by the cat who decided it would rather be out prowling around than in, what else can one do if you find sleep is avoiding you once you’re back in bed.

For hours I lay thinking about my characters and the end of my novel. For the last couple of days I’ve been busy sketching out the ending of my story. Thoughts and ideas have been rolling around in my head and I’ve been forming them into words and scenes. Though there’s still six empty chapters to fill having the ending beginning to write itself is helping me to drive my plot forwards at an amazing speed.

Pace is all important. It’s what keep your readers turning the pages. If you keep them interested enough, they won’t want to put your book down, but remember to tie up all the ends of your plotline as neatly as you can. So at three o’clock this morning,  while my cat Willow was off prowling around in the icy cold wind, I laid wide wake, trying not to disturb my sleep husband, making sure I’ve looked at every plot angle I could think of to make my novel’s ending stand out from the crowd.

Remember there’s always more than one way to skin a cat.  Not that I would, even though I wasn’t happy about being woken so early in the morning. 🙂GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

No time is wasted time if you find yourself thinking of a great finish to your novel, which will make your readers eager to read your next book.

And if you happen to read this Willow, please don’t think I want to be woken so early again, as I do need my sleep to be able to stay awake long enough to write the ending. 🙂

Have a great day writing,

Paula R. C.

2 thoughts on “Just a thought. . . @ 3 am

Leave a Reply

