once grammarAt the end of every month I go to my writing group. It’s a small group made up of four or five. Normally there are four of us, who are dedicated wordsmiths. It’s a great group because of its size. In the three hours we are together each of us gets to read our work aloud without the worry of not being able to finish the piece.

Afterward we discuss our thoughts and feelings on the pieces we’ve just heard.  How the characters comes across to us, whether we could picture the scenes clearly, whether the dialogue sounded natural etc. Also as a writer, I feel it helps me when I read my work to others because I can feel the flow of my piece, and whether it works well or not.

Derek is the only man in our group. He has a great sense of humour which comes out in his work and he enjoys writing for children too. Ivy, who runs the group, has had 30 novels published and at the grand age of 86 is still writing strong and being published by Random House. Linda G, who couldn’t make it today, has had short stories published in Women’s magazines and self-published her crime novels. Our newest member, Linda P writes short stories and plays. We are quite a mixed bunch, which is why we work so well together.

My new story went down well today, and I got some great feedback too. I even noticed just one or two points myself where I need to tighten it up before I send it off.

Hope you had a positive writing day today.

Paula R.C.

 

One thought on “Writing Group.

Leave a Reply

