Bank of Windflowers
Bank of Windflowers

After a week of not walking my dear friend, Ana was well enough to adventure out. Today we took the path by the small holding and headed towards the woods.

Since having our new cameras our desires have grown. Before we were limited to what our old camera’s range would allow. As we walked along the footpaths in the early morning as the sun broke on the far horizon, we would see a lone fox, or deer knowing we couldn’t enjoy showing others because it was pointless trying to take a picture as the only thing that would be capture was a blurred shape.

Now we creep quietly along hoping to see things before they see us. We can scan the tree tops and hunt in the hedgerows for small birds and mammals from a distance.

As Ana and I watched a small flock of blue tits chasing each other around the tops of hazel tree, Ana said with disappointment in her voice, “Now we’ve got to be quicker at snapping our pictures.’

Blue Tit
Blue Tit

So the moral of this piece is you can have the best camera in the world, but it is still up to you to press the button fast enough to get the shot.

Yesterday, I found myself needing to add another chapter to my novel. I had already planned my book out, knowing exactly how many chapters I needed to tell my story.

Set in early 60’s Britain, my story is told from the point of view of an artist as he hunts out a new model every year for 10 years.

The trouble with writing is you may think you know the route your story is going to take and which characters you will use to tell it, but I can assure you, you will find it isn’t so.

Every writing guide book tells you to write down your main characters, their names, ages and descriptions. Next, to plot your story, remembering it must have a beginning, middle & end.

This is good advice, but soon you will find that other characters take on a life of their own. Sometimes this is great adding a new dimension to your story, but it is important to keep it in check.

In the New Wood
In the New Wood

Like with my new camera, I must keep within its focal range if I want a great picture that captures the true beauty of the moment, rather than something a little vague and grainy, by pushing beyond its limits.

This too could be said for the art of storytelling. It is important to keep on track with what your reader needs to know to keep the plot moving forward without distracting them from the main action.

While working on my novel, I realised, I couldn’t rush an important scene, but I also needed to stay focused on the main thread of the story.

Finding I was caught writing a very long chapter, I decided it would be better for my readers to have a new chapter and enjoy the action in two parts.

This has given my serial killer the chance to savour the moment as he hunted down his next victim, while set his antagonist up to take a fall.

I must say James takes pride in his work, and doesn’t like to do a rush job. Though, this isn’t to everyone taste, I know.

The Path Home
The Path Home

Have a great weekend,

Paula R. C.

One thought on “Keep In Focus

Leave a Reply

