When Morning has Broken

Reflection
Reflection

This morning I was up at 3.55. Yep, 3.55. My son doesn’t drive, so good old mum has to set her clock and drag herself out of the arms of Morpheus to make sure he is at work on time.

Lucky for me I’m a morning person. To me this is the best time of the day. Seeing the sun rise on a new day is so beautiful and full of promise. It’s a good time to go out walking with your camera too. With the birds singing and the nature enjoying a moment’s peace until ‘Mankind’ wakes and rushes headlong into the day at a crazy pace.

Too many times I’ve heard others say, Thank God that day is over. So a sunset to me is like a ‘death of day’. Some may see that as a good thing, if they’re having a tough time, but to me we have far too few days in our lives to just throw them away.

This morning as I drove back home, after delivering my son to his place of employment, I saw a little owl sitting on the top of a road sign. How I wish I had taken my camera with me.

The only problem with waking to a bright sunny morning I find is the driving need to be outside to enjoy it fully. This morning my friend, Ana and I were to go out for our early morning walk, only she not feeling too well, so our walk will have to wait for another day.

I don’t know about you, but I find a change of plan off putting, as though once my mind knows what is expected of it, it’s written in stone. Now I’m finding it hard to settle into just writing after looking forward to seeing what Mother Nature had on offer for me to see today. If the little owl was a taster for today’s specials then my friend and I would’ve had some amazing pictures to share with you all.

Across the Yellow
Across the Yellow

Yesterday, I was focusing on editing and rewriting a pocket novel which has been sitting on my computer for quite awhile. Taking another look at an old piece of writing can be very rewarding. It’s true what they say about ‘fresh eyes’.

So as the sun floods my small office space and I look out on a new day, I’m excited about what it has on offer for me while I tap away at my keys.

May I wish you a rewarding day too.

Paula R. C.

2 thoughts on “When Morning has Broken

  1. I prefer mornings but my early starts aren’t as early as yours as I’m generally up and about well before 7am. Like you I find changes of plans a bit unsettling.
    Thanks, and you too. I’ve certainly had a rewarding day as I spent the morning on the plot. xx

Leave a Reply

