Posted in Books, Characters, Competition results, Everyday Life, First Steps, publishing, Short Stories, Writer Life's lessons, Writing

Job done but the race is far from over.

Here we are at the beginning of another working week and half way through the first month of the new year. I hope like mine your start to this new year has been a positive one.

In 2012 I was lucky enough to be the overall winner in the Harrogate Crime writing Festival /  Writing magazine Short Story Competition. My winning story was both published online by the Crime Festival and published in the Writing Magazine. I received some great feedback from readers who read my story online and from seeing it in the magazine. They all asked me the same question, when was I going to turn the story into a novel.

At first I had no idea how I could take a story of 1,800 word and make a novel. I felt the story’s impact would be watered down and lost. Secondly I realised what was left to the reader’s imagination was unworkable in a novel.

For about a year I kept telling myself, I couldn’t do it. Then a dear friend of mine put my name forward to do a reading of my short story at an art festival. Two things happened to change my life on the evening of the art festival. Losing my nerve I was unable to read my story for myself, so my friend step up to the mark and it for me. Secondly, I received more comments telling me how much they enjoyed the story, but wanted to know more about the main character and would love to read RoofscapNovel Finished a1es  as a novel.

As the evening drew to a close my friend, Ivy, my husband, Russell and I were just getting ready to leave when a gentlemen asked me whether I was an artist too. I said yes, but I was self taught and hadn’t been to college.  He said he guessed I was because of my descriptions in the story and that he hoped I would find a way to turn it into a novel.

Walking back to the car that evening, I promised myself two things, first the next time I was asked to do a reading I would overcome my nerves and read for myself. Secondly, I would write a novel based on the story.

In October 2014, I stood up and read for the first time to an audience in Swansea a short Gothic crime story of my mine called ‘The Gardener’ which was published by Parthian Books in their anthology A Flock of Shadows    Yesterday, after two years of writing on and off, you know what it’s like life as it normally does, gets in the way of the creative process, I finally finished my novel, Roofscapes : Stone Angels.

Finally after much pondering whose voice I would uses for  the novel I found it had to be the artist’s.

Now the next stage begins. I have sent the completed book to Debz, a dear friend who just happens to work as an editor, so she can critique it before I send it to a publisher who was keen to read it last year. I had hoped to have it ready for them much sooner, but unfortunately my Mum passed away, which meant my life was put on hold for a while.

Now its time to start on my next project as I wait to see how much work needs to be done on the novel before I send it off to the publisher.

Hope you all have a great week.

Catch up with you all soon,

Paula R. C.

 

 

Author:

I've been busy learning the skills to become a writer over the last 10 years by writing short stories. After winning two short stories competition, I hope to find a publisher for my novels.

6 thoughts on “Job done but the race is far from over.

Leave a Reply

