Posted in Uncategorized

Flash Fiction: bite size stories

Snoopy the writer 2I’ve never been a fan of Flash Fiction. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve always admire others for writing a story in less than a 100 words, but somehow it wasn’t for me. However, I’ve been playing around with a few ideas and came up with a couple of my own.

On Friday the publisher, Gill James, who I’ve a few of my short stories published with, had an online book launch for her book, January Stones 2013    During the launch she set a task for us all to write a piece of Flash Fiction using a picture from her book trailer.

I chose the book cover picture, and title for the inspiration for my flash fiction. First of all I sat down and thought about the title in itself, January Stones. What did these words say to me?

Stones always make me think of my first love stone circles. The mystery of why they were built, and how they were used. Secondly, I thought about how the month got its name, January. Now most of us know that January got its name from a Roman God, Janus.

Using my Brewer’s dictionary of Phrase & Fable I looked up what other facts about him might add another dimension to my story. I knew he was always depicted with two faces, one looking forwards to the coming year, and the other looking back over the past. Another interesting fact about January was that the Saxons called it, Wulf-monath, because wolves were very troublesome then from the great scarcity of food.

So with what I had found out how could I put it all into a bite size story. Taking my first idea of a stone circle, a thought than jumped into my head was a pillar of salt. In the bible, the story of Lot’s wife being told not to look back, and when she broke her word and was turn into a pillar of salt seemed to mirror one of the stones in a circle.

So was born my Flash Fiction story called The Janus Stone which is now published on Cafelit.

Please check it out for free. Oh, and please leave a comment and let me know what you think. If you would like to write your own flash fiction and see it in print both online and in hard copy then check out Cafelit’s submission guidelines.

Have a great week, and keep on writing.

Paula R. C.

 

 

Author:

I've been busy learning the skills to become a writer over the last 10 years by writing short stories. After winning two short stories competition, I hope to find a publisher for my novels.

Leave a Reply

